Best friend

Writing is my friend.

Sometimes one that is too friendly.

She often appears in random places, always in a such a hurry.

She often appears in my shower.

Sometimes she annoyingly comes to me in prayer.

I had to knock her out of my head.

She always tries to make use of a situation.

Sending me prompts, wanting my immediate attention.

When I tell her that it’s not the time

She’ll ignore me and runs away to the back of my mind.

Sometimes its like she is gone forever.

And then randomly, she will always reappear.

But she is really good at giving me comfort

When emotions run wild, or my fuses run short

Writing was there before I call her

“I am here” she says,

And soon enough I feel better.

Writing, I love you.

You’re my best friend forever.

- Ayuni A. , December 2023

--

--

Ayuni Ayatillah

Freelance writer, a stay-at-home mum of three. Proses and poetry about motherhood and self-reflections, here in this literary abode.